Roundabout

William King

What's happening in the world

of online Gay books and stuff.

It’s been nearly five months since the first posted blog article back in June. I suppose I’m not a prolific and fast reader, but I have come across a couple of good interesting stories.

I don’t suppose, at least if you are in any way similar to me, that you would be immediately drawn to a book about ballet. I started reading this book, Dance of the Wicked Boys because someone, somewhere, mentioned it and I bookmarked it. 

You might call it one of those occasions where the title does a great job in drawing the reader's attention. The front cover tells you immediately what type of dancing. Having picked it up and started reading, I simply had to continue, the story won’t let you put it down. Plus it’s well written. There are some typos and errors here and there, it could do with a proof read, but that’s the only real criticism I could make. The sequel, Act Two, is even better than the first book. 

I had to write and ask the author a few questions about the book and how he wrote it. I particularly wanted to know if he had plotted out the storyline. The reason being the ending, which I’m not about to tell you, but an ending that manages to bring everything neatly together and finish the story is the art of a great storyteller. The sequel achieved that, and yes, a story plot was outlined, even if some things changed along the way.

The book has sex in it, a fair amount, and brings up the perennial problem of age differences in relationships. The author managed to walk the tightrope, but as he revealed to me, not without some compromise. Whatever those changes may have been, the book certainly achieves the painting a picture of the world of ballet, the struggle of the boys, as well as how all this sits with society at large.