What I Do

Rilbur

I am a programmer.  I develop software for a living.  It's one of the reasons I often don't write as much as I'd like, or as much as I used to.  I tend to either be gainfully employed, with a deadline to meet and limited time to spend, or out of a job, depressed as I watch the money trickle out of my bank account faster than I can fill it back up with odds and ends of work.

But sometimes, something fun pops up.

I develop out of a building run by a company called Bitwise, 'the mothership of technological innovation'.  They recently had the grand-opening celebration of their new building, and this video was unveiled there.  And I wanted to share it with everyone.  Because it is awesome.

https://shift3tech-1.wistia.com/medias/v7lgf7f6bq

Enjoy.  The mothership has landed.

Rilbur,

What an inspiring piece of video. I got my hands on a computer for the first time in 1987, and in just a few weeks of "playing" with that first generation IBM PC with its two 5 1/4 inch floppy disks and green screen, I was hooked. I surrender my fairy tale of becoming a vascular surgeon and instead explored the world of computers. I was fascinated by the creative power in this inanimate object. It became my muse, where I could carefully mix the scientific, precise, idealistic me with the creative, whimsical side of me. I don't design art work or graphics, but I believe there is an art in database design and business problem solving. Re-engineering a business process using technology tools is like modern day carpentry or welding from my point of view. And I love it.