Introductions

Emperor Roland

• 3 weeks later...

One more reply...

I am a retired viet-nam veteran, born long-long ago, in a land far-far away.  (Texas)

Great fan of CSU, L.A.F.B., Haven, Dan Kirk, Michael Arram's Henry stories, Jamie Haze, Silver Wolf, STL, Waddie Greywolf, and a multitude of other authors. 

Most of my time is spent reading, drinking 50% decaf coffee and playing with my computer. 

I run Linux Mint on my home built system, haven't used winbloze since 2007...

Bob

I joined the editing staff of RU, in Dec. 2013. 'nam vet - I Corps, class of 69-70. I currently work as Floor Sales for our local Ace Hardware.

Gotcha beat, Bob! the last copy of winders to foul my hard drives was Win 2K. Started  with a distro (slackware) back in '02 and made the full move in '04. I have been a die-hard SuSE fan since '06. Played with several others, but kept coming back to SuSE.

The last store bought machine, was for my SO in '07. I have built all of mine since the early 90's.

Ok, I was in the Air Force `66 to `70. Crew-chief on single engine interceptors(F-102a).  Based at Clark Field in the PI, and tdy to nam and thailand (Funny looking little airplanes without insignia or numbers, but

with metal slats in the skin where an insignia could be slid in...)  Someone mentioned that there were a lot of "COMPANY" people there..

Started out on computers in college in `70 learning assembler and cobol.  Later learned basic and C-Basic 80. First actual computer was an Ibex... power supply, 10 meg, 8inch Hdd and 2-8" DSDD floppies; in a 2-ft square by 10" high solid steel case,  Separate TTY monitor, and a keyboard/motherboard combo about like the original C-64. But only an 8080 @ 2.5 Mhz and 64K ram. 

I, too started with linux (also Suse) back in the the early 90's but had a separate system I rebuilt, for that.